It’s All About Me, Sort of.

When I started blogging I had the idea that I would write more about my own inner musings than about my kids.  But as I’ve been blogging, well, I found out that I don’t have many inner musings that don’t involve my kids.  Even when I’m alone I’m thinking about them.  And when the phone rings, I think, “the phone, the phone is ringing.  The phone!  I’ll be right there!”  That’s the song from “The Wonder Pets,” and what it proves is that I have been touched, as it were, by being a mother.  It’s not that I’m one dimensional, it’s that my other dimensions are mostly dormant for this phase of my life.  Sometimes I wonder about that, and what I might do differently, but mostly I like where I am.  So on that note…Scout Camp!

I was a den walker on Tuesday, and as I drove five nine and ten year old boys over to camp I had to giggle to myself as I listened to them talk.

My ears definitely perked up when I heard one of them ask, “what does it mean when you raise your middle finger?”

All the boys got really excited and started shouting out their ideas.  “It means you hate God!”, “It means a swear word!”, “It means if you say it you’re going to get in big trouble!” and my personal favorite, “It means beeeep, like on American Idol!”

And with that, like they were part of an angelic all boys choir (not!), they began to sing “beep, beep, beep, beep…” to the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star.”  They thought it was very funny.  Me too, actually.  See, even my sense of humor has been affected.

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sugar B... said,

    One of the things that makes us most proud is your dedication to and
    your love of being a “Mom” – a truly awesome one you are! Your children
    are truly blessed.

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    As I’ve said a zillion times before, you are perfectly suited to be a mom, and your kids are so lucky they got you…and your other dimensions are beautiful, too. And that’s no beep.

  3. 3

    Leslie said,

    hey fosses this is megan. that cracked me up when they said that is what they do on american idol. i was on th floor catching my breath. (not really)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

