The Cake

Two weeks ago we had a farewell open house for the Miles family before they set off for Africa, and for one of the desserts I made, get ready for it, The Cake. This is the cake that whenever I make it women ask for the recipe. This is the cake that you want in your back pocket for whenever you need a super easy, fast, yet impressive and delicious dessert. This is what I am giving to you. Because I love you. And because I told a bunch of ladies at the party that I would. See? They asked for it!

THE CAKE

With a wire wisk mix together:

1 package yellow cake mix, 1 small package of instant chocolate pudding, 1/2 cup of sugar

Mix in until smooth, but don’t beat:

3/4 cups oil, 3/4 cups water, 4 eggs, 8 oz. light sour cream, 1 cup chocolate chips

Pour into Bundt Pan, sprayed with Pam

Bake at 350 degrees for 50 to 70 minutes. Cool 10 minutes and invert onto plate or cake stand. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

That is the cake as told to me by my sweet friend Shawni on August 1, 1998 (I always write down the date people give me a recipe). But if you were at the Bon Voyage then you know that this is not the cake I served. That’s because I’ve spent the last ten years making up variations on The Cake. For the Bon Voyage I wanted to serve a vanilla cake with whip cream and strawberries so I just swapped the chocolate pudding for vanilla, and left out the chocolate chips. Another way I like to make it is with vanilla pudding and crushed pineapple instead of chocolate chips. I leave out the water and use 3/4 cups of pineapple and juice.

Now, prove you love me back by sharing your The Cake recipes. You know I’ll thank you for it.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    heather said,

    Ahhh! I have loved Shawni’s cake recipe for years! And you are right, everyone loves it. Now my friend, I am loving your “take on the cake.” I will try those…I can’t wait!

  2. 2

    Aunt Colleen said,

    Wouldn’t you know that I’d show up to comment on a food-related blog? Haven’t been keeping up with you lately….but it looks like you’re well organized to keep the lettes “on point” this summer….pun intended. I’m so impressed with what you’ve done with your blog…you’re becoming a regular techo-whiz.

    Anyway, the cake looks beautiful…I think Grammy would like it, so I’m going to make it for her birthday. When it comes to desserts, easy has a lot of appeal for me.

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Hi Meesh,

    Well, as you might imagine, I can’t prove how much I love you back by sharing my The Cake recipe…but I can share my latest triumph in the quick, easy and REALLY IMPRESSIVE appetizer category. Are you ready? Here goes: Buy some Sunsweet dried apricots (the best brand by far). Buy some gorgonzola cheese. Buy some Trader Joe’s spicy pecans (can’t remember; do you have Trader Joe’s out there? If not, can you score some roasted, salted, seasoned pecans halves?) Now, this next part is tough. Slap a small amount of gorgonzola in the center of the apricot half, and press a nut into it. That’s it. Looks beautiful and tastes really wonderful. I’ve made these puppies for my last three parties, and they have been a big hit. Maybe not as big as The Cake, but, hey. We all do what we can.

  4. 4

    Mandy said,

    Mmmm this sounds heavenly. The cake was all snatched up when we got to the food table, so it looks like I am going to have to go out and buy a bundt pan to make this delish treat!! Thanks for sharing.

  5. 5

    Auntie Tonya said,

    Just was catching up with. Glad to have a new EASY recipe. I can’t wait to try it. The more chocolate the better as far as I’m concerned. YUM!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

