So You Think You Can Dance!

I’m afraid that if I publish this post it will appear that I watch too much television. This is blatantly untrue. I would like to watch a lot more television than I have time for. Friends are often asking me if I’ve seen the latest episode of “The Biggest Looser,” or “Pushing Daisies,” and I have to so sadly answer that these shows aren’t even in my repertoire because I am simply too busy to watch them. It’s true! There is a lot of really excellent television out there that Marc and I don’t even get to watch and it is a crying shame.

But we do get to watch “So You Think You Can Dance.” Actually, Maddie, Katie and I watch it ALWAYS, and Marc watches it sometimes if there is not a Lakers game on when we decide to watch it. So last night there was this beautiful contemporary piece that I think you will enjoy. Or at least Gretchen will.

The choreographer says the piece is about two people who are so caught up in their own tasks and concerns that they can’t connect with each other. The frenzy and impotence of their movements really touched me. Sometimes I miss opportunities to connect with the people I love because I am so involved in my own little world of worries. I love how art can illuminate life.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ditr45 said,

    This dance was amazing! Anything by Mia Michaels is amazing… Glad to see me and my friends arent the only ones who are moved by the dances of a TV show! Enjoy the rest of the season 🙂
    -Karen

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    This post revealed one of your many, wonderful dimensions (besides the Mother-of-Four Dimension). You thoughtful comment about art illuminating life touched me. I love you!

  3. 3

    Sugar B... said,

    You make our hearts dance! Luv….

  4. 4

    Aunt Colleen said,

    As you are “Lost”, I think I can dance. Love this program, and anything Mia Michaels does is packed with emotion, a strong story line, and incredible dance moves. I think it was last year she choreographed a dance in memory of her deceased father that made me cry. She’s amazing.

    What a talented group of dancers this year, eh?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

