My Campers

Maddie and Katie are home from girls camp today. After a week away they missed me so much that Maddie went to a dance and Katie went to a friends house. I’m going to take that to mean they are secure in my love and know that I will always be there for them when they get home, and not that they didn’t miss me. Sometimes being a good mother is about fooling yourself.

I took these pictures right when I picked them up.

They were so stinky and dirty that even my boundless mother love did not make me want to bear hug them. It sounds like they had a great time, hiking, river rafting, swimming in the lake, doing crafts, sleeping/hanging out in the cabins. They were both talking a mile a minute when they first got in the car. It reminds me of how much I loved girls camp when I was a, well, girl.

There are certain memories that will only mean something to a select few, but I need to list them anyway, for my own smile purposes:

“I can flip you off”

“I can touch my tongue to my nose!”

Passion Princesses!

I want your dollar!

I made a pointy stick, again.

Push it out, shove it out, WAY OUT!

Thank you for your indulgence. I can only hope my girls had as much fun as I used to!

Ellie and Jonathan went to afternoon camps this last week too. Jonathan went to a multi-sport camp and Ellie went to a dance camp. On the last day Ellie’s group put on a show. She was so excited, right up until we got there, and then she was just mad because, I don’t know why…I like to worry, she likes to be mad. It’s the way we are. But then she felt better. And then she danced!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sugar B... said,

    Wow! How this takes me back to your days of girls camp. The return from camp was always most exciting to us – the stories and really silly songs that rang through our house for weeks and months to come (my guess is that you still remember some of them), the spiritual growth and new found friendships. I am so delighted your girls are able to have those same experiences and that you get to experience the joy we felt at the end of your weeks at camp.

    And for Ellie, she just always wants to be sure that you aren’t going to be distracted and are paying full and total attention to her. How can we not, she is such a cute little actress!

  2. 2

    Adie said,

    CAN I flip you off?

    My IT GIRL went to her first girls camp this month, begging not to go. What my child not wanting to go to girls camp – I was in pain with the thought. But when she was back (I forgot how much she talks after days of quite with BIRDMAN – son) I hear all the fun she had. She liked it. Yea!!
    Ellie looks so much like you….cool

  3. 3

    shelleykennedy said,

    You can TOTALLY flip me off. Anytime!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

