And More Camp

I drove Maddie and Katie to camp this morning for their second week of Girls Camp. It’s a pretty cute group, yes?!

Even though electronics are a big no-no at camp, it turns out both my girls had decided to sneak in their cell phones. When we got to camp I was helping unpack the cars while the girls all went to check in. Pretty soon Katie came running back to me gasping, “Mommy! When you sign in they ask if you have a phone, and then you have to sign a paper saying that you don’t have one, and then if they catch you with one later they take it from you and you have to write a letter to your Bishop explaining why you lied!”

Then her friend Camille chimed in and added, “AND they put you in solitary confinement or something!”

I had to giggle to myself, because having done my past duty as a girls camp leader, I know how mean and totally unfair they are!

So Katie asked me to take her phone home with me. A little while later Maddie saunters up and gives me her phone too, but first she had to kiss it goodbye, and send a text to just one more friend, and confirm with everyone that there really wasn’t any coverage at camp anyway. When I mentioned that she was being ridiculous, she explained to me as how her phone is like her stuffed animals, it comforts her by its mere presence. AT&T could charge more for that.

I sure love those silly girls; as confusing as technology is for me, it’s completely in their blood!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Marc said,

    Shelley is so good at letting the girls make their own right decisions! I would have grumbled at them and demanded they leave their cellphones — thereby missing an opportunity for them to demonstrate their own honesty.

    Girls camp is so great. My girls always come home tired, but with just a little more sparkle in their eyes.

  2. 2

    Mandy said,

    Those girls are so dang sweet. I wish I had such a good attitude about camping…not even all those years of girl’s camp managed that.

  3. 3

    Sugar B... said,

    Marc is so right about you Shelley. This is just one more example of the bizillion things that you do so right with and for your children.

  4. 4

    Auntie Tonya said,

    What lovely young ladies. I so wish you guys were closer. Your kids are so cool. But they’re yours so of course they are!

  5. 5

    Angie said,

    Okay, I almost died laughing reading that (since i was in the stake this year and instructing the interogations at check-in)… Glad it worked for your girls. Lets just say some letters were written to Bishops this year about choosing to lie. And, for the record, the youth leaders came up with the punishment, NOT the adults. i just enforce the laws, I don’t write them.

    Still laughing inside…

  6. 6

    shelleykennedy said,

    I bet some bishops are getting a good laugh out of that.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

