One of These Girls is Not Like the Other

Just to illustrate one of the differences (many and varied, sometimes I can’t believe they both came out of the same stomach) between Maddie and Katie, let me tell you about when I took them to the bank on Thursday to open savings accounts. They each had about $250 from their day care camp that they did last month. Marc and I decided that after they paid their 10% tithing they should each save 10% too.

My explanation that the 10% that they save is theirs, they just can’t do anything with it until they are eighteen was met with completely opposite responses. Can you guess who gave which response?

Girl 1: “Are you kidding? Do I have to do it?”

Me: “Yep.”

Girl 1: “It’s my money, I don’t want to save it.”

Me: “What are you so hot to buy anyway?”

Girl 1: “I don’t know, snacks, lip gloss, smelly perfumes… ” (She totally said that just to bug me)

Me: “Some day you’ll be really glad you saved. You can use it to help with a mission, or college.” (a totally compelling argument, I know.)

Girl 1: “I’m not going on a mission, maybe later when I’m old or something.” (Steph, Jenna, Becca, GET HER!)

Me: “Well, you still have to save at least twenty-five dollars.”

Girl 2: “I’m putting in $160, I still have a couple hundred at home.”

Girl 1: (Slouching in chair and scowling) “Saving is for squares.”

Guess! Can you tell whose who? I bet you can.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Marc said,

    I can guess which one is which! Sometimes I think Kate has a perfume factory in her room. She loves all things aromatic (that is Fancy Nancy for smells nice).

  2. 2

    Sugar B... said,

    I’m sitting at our laptop at home and looked up at the “cat print” above the desk that says “love comes in all colors” and can only smile, thinking that yes, your children were born with all the colors of the rainbow. And she’ll never live in a box! Just enjoy all the differences while you still can.

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Oh, you who claim you aren’t good at writing provocative headlines that draw the reader in. WRONG! This post has a great headline — sucked me right in for sure. And, yes, I can guess. I wish I had been a lot more like Girl 2; even now I’m an instant gratification freak. I think it is so wonderful that you’re helping them learn about saving money.

  4. 4

    amy burbidge said,

    Hey Shelly, Marc commented on my blog and gave me yours–it was so fun to see pictures of your kids! When I read this post I guessed wrong, but I guess that can be excused since the last time I saw your girls they were 4 and 2! Madison was such a spunky little girl with big personality and Katie was so sweet and such a pleaser, I figured Maddie would be the spender and Katie the saver, but I gues I was wrong! Seems that they change as they grow, or maybe I just remember them wrong. I am getting old!

  5. 5

    How are the pastors now being paid?

    From love offerings or the tithe?

    People who accept any portion of the tithe are not allowed to own any tangible property, such as a home, real estate.. according to the Bible too

    http://anyonecare.wordpress.com/2008/05/29/the-ttihe/

  6. 6

    shelleykennedy said,

    First, I gotta say it’s pretty cool that someone read my blog besides my mom and dad, thanks for checking it out.

    In The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Local leaders like Bishops (who preside over a congregation) and Stake Presidents (who preside over a number of congregations grouped together by location) don’t get paid at all for their service, except in blessings.

    My father-in-law was the Bishop of a ward in Lawndale, CA for seven years and while the love, time, and sacrifice he put into fulfilling that calling were immense, he did it faithfully and humbly. He also worked full time and took care of my sweet mother-in-law who is in a wheelchair.

    I hope that helps, you can look for more information on the Mormon church at http://www.mormon.org


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

