Details

I always say I love you on this blog, because I really do love all 20 people who read it, and here is more proof: even though I am totally exhausted and stressed thinking about the upcoming move, I am going to give you details. Because it is not fair to keep you in the dark. I know.

Marc has accepted a job with the boutique law firm Trucker Huss and his start date is, deep breath, September 4th. Yes, I am excited. Yes, it is very soon. Yes, I am going crazy trying to get everything worked out. No, the kids aren’t thrilled, but they are taking it like men. I am very proud of them and grateful for their sweet attitudes.

So right now we are planning to rent for a year in the Bay Area, we are looking primarily in Walnut Creek, but also considering Dublin, Danville and Concord. Our main criteria are good schools and proximity to BART. My mom and dad are checking out places for us, and if we can have a contract signed this week I’ll be ecstatic. (THANKS you two!)

I’m much less picky about the actual house since: A. we’re renting B. it’s tough to meet our school, commute, and price requirements, and C. I’ve learned over the last few years that my happiness doesn’t actually have much to do with the house I’m in.

So that’s the main scoop. More as we know. Snaps.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aunt Colleen said,

    I’m so happy for my sister and her husband! I know all of you must have very mixed feelings about moving away from all your friends and some of Marc’s family, but am so happy you’ll be welcomed by family. So now I can see lots of family when I go to California. That will also be nice! Try to maintain your sanity in the next few crazy weeks.

  2. 2

    katrina said,

    Hooray! I’ll ask my sister in concord if there’s any rentals!

  3. 3

    Heather K said,

    Wow. This is news. At least you do not have to move 3 large dogs. That was the biggest pain. Keep us posted!

  4. 4

    AdreAnn said,

    Yea!!!! for me

  5. 5

    Nick said,

    WOW!!! Lemme know if you want to chat about the whole cross-country-move thing with kids, as we’ve been there and done that… twice! Let us know how we can help and we’re looking forward to seeing you and your beautiful family again soon!

  6. 6

    shelleykennedy said,

    Nick,
    Thanks, I’ll try to call. I’m super excited that we’ll be able to see you more. Can’t wait to get my arms around your kids!

  7. 7

    Brandy Anderson said,

    Shelley,
    I’m sitting here feeling like crying because I am going to miss you…even though I’m in DE and NEVER make it down to DC anymore, you just seem like a part of that place for me, and it’s dying.
    How selfish of me to not congratulate you on the job, etc….
    I’ve already been missing you, and now I’m going to miss you more.
    Brandy

  8. 8

    shelleykennedy said,

    Brandy, I miss you all of the time too! Thanks for checking in. I want to make several (crazy) quilts for Christmas this year and whenever I plan, shop for, and sew quilts you are in my heart! Love you.

  9. 9

    Megan Fife said,

    Ok, so random thing-I was looking on craigslist for “moving sales” and saw one for your address and thought, “hey, that looks like the Fosse’s address” and so I found my way to your blog through Angie and here you are moving to CA! CRAZY and good luck! Tell the girls I’ll miss them!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

