Certified Organic

We went to the Farmer’s Market in Walnut Creek and all I can say is “Wow.”

I bought tomatos ’cause I’ve been missing Gretchen’s.  Tomato toast, I love you.

The most adorable artichokes ever.  Teeny, no chokes, just hearts.  Divine.

Ellie is learning about bees at school.  She told us that there can only be one mom/queen bee because if there were two, the boy bees wouldn’t know who to listen to.  That’s right.

Maddie and Katie bought honey comb, Jonathan and Marc got white nectarines and a bunch of plums, Marc and I got huge peas to shell and blanch in salt water (yum!), and Ellie got a balloon wand (I know).

It was really painful all of the stuff I didn’t buy; olive oils, fresh hummus, apples, squash, the coolest pumpkins…we will have to go back.  You come visit and I’ll take you and buy you a tamale.  They smelled SO good.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Aunt Colleen said,

    Wow…that farmer’s market does look awesome, especially those baby artichokes. Sure wish I could be there, breathing in that dry California air and getting my vitamin shot with sunshine! Only a few more days and you’ll have your stuff and plenty to do making your home YOUR home, as you so artfully do. So glad the lettes’ tears have dried and yours, too. All the kids looked great for their first day of school, especially Marc. He’s looking trimmer and trimmer. I sure hope I can enjoy that hill view with you before the year ends, plus get introduced to your neighghghghborhood 😉 Love to all.

  2. 2

    Mom said,

    My Sweet Daughter,

    My heart overflowed this morning when I saw your wonderful farmers’ market photos. That’s when I knew you are already making Walnut Creek — and all it has to offer — your new family home. I love you so much, and I’m so happy that you and Marc are making this new, fresh start for your family.

    Love to Marc (I agree with your Aunt Colleen about his looking trimmer and trimmer, although I would have said studlier and studlier) and to each of my beautiful grandkids. P.S. Jonathan and Marc were true to their fruit bat roots at the market!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

