Your Votes, Please

Hi Friends,

I need a new vacuum, as many of you know.  In fact, it’s kind of alarming how many of you have vacuumed at my place and noted the total lameness of my vacuum unit.  Anyway, please be my personal Consumer Reports and let me know your recommendations.  I will share the results in case anyone else is in the market.

This is the dream, but maybe I can't afford it.

This is the dream, but maybe I can't afford it

 

 

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    katrina said,

    oh dear i get to share my obsession with vacuuming with the world.
    I have an Oreck, and I swear by it. It is a budget buster, but for good reasons. It has a 21 year warranty, and I take it in every year for free service. The Dyson is fine, and I know Paige loves her but it is heavy and if you have to drag it up and down stairs it’s a pain, literally.

  2. 2

    Adie said,

    I LOVE MY DYSON not heavy LOVEY BEAUTIFUL and a great SUCKER too.

  3. 3

    Nick said,

    I LOVE my Dyson. For someone who vacuums every other day (NOT because I love to vacuum, mind you) it does a great job with the kid stuff and dog fluff!! It is easy to use with the attachments on the stairs and easy to empty and maintain. You can even make really cool patterns in the carpet…if you’re into that type of thing. We got ours at Costco…best price for the most accessories.

  4. 4

    Brandy Anderson said,

    Dyson lover…think what you spend on your lawn mower, and you use this EVERY day. Plus, they give these out to presenters at the Acadamy Awards. If it’s good enough for Angelie Jolie, it’s good enough for you, Shelley.

  5. 5

    Aunt Colleen said,

    This is the straight scoop from Consumer’s Reports mouth (October 2008 issue)

    Score/Top 3 Uprights/Approx. Price:
    75/Kenmore Progressive with Direct Drive 35922/$350
    70/Kenmore Progressive with Direct Drive 36932/$350
    68/Eureka Boss Smart Vac 4870/$150

    All above have good to excellent ratings in all categories except handling, where they were all rated Fair.

    Score/Top 3 Cannisters/Approx. Price:
    73/Kenmore Intuition 28014/$600
    71/Electrolux Oxygen EL6988/$400
    68/Kenmore Progressive 27914/$500

    All above are rated good to excellent in all rating categories.

    Kenmore seems to be the queen of the vacuum world, no matter how sexy your dream model may seem.

    BTW, the Dyson models range from 57 to 65 ratings, and the two Oreck models rated 51 and 64. (I’m not that tuned into vacuums, so just guessed that your dream vacuum was one of these two.) I have the Kenmore Progressive, and I’ve been happy with its performance.

    I subscribe to Consumer Reports, so if you ever want product ratings, just let auntie know 😉

  6. 6

    Jan said,

    I am also a Dyson lover, even though consumer reports does not like it! I find it light weight, easy to move around, and it seems to do a fine job with the dirt. It is also quite nice looking for a vacuum cleaner, assuming a vacuum cleaner can have any aesthetic appeal!

  7. 7

    Paige said,

    you know I loves me my dyson.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

