Humbug Halloween

Sometimes it’s hard to write a readable post because my thoughts jump around like a cricket, you know?  And yes I have tried the Ritalin, but it just made me anxious and, frankly, I worry enough in my natural and unmedicated state.  Yes indeedy!

But about Halloween, I hate candy (buying it, sorting it, storing it, distributing it, and recovering it from under my little monsters’ beds). 

And costumes…I love kids in their costumes, but, again, I hate the itching, the crying about coats, the changing their minds, the awful cost, and the undeniable kid impulse to shed parts of said costume throughout the night and make me carry them. 

I sound awful don’t I?  I didn’t start out to  write this thinking I would come off as such a goober. 

But as long as I’m complaining I might as well go full tilt.  Katie and her friends are dressing up as “girls from the 80’s,” and all week long she has been asking me what I dressed like in the 80’s.  Like it’s medieval times or something?  I looked exactly the same for pete’s sake!  And no, I’m not a bad mom, I do try to help her and recall back thru the cobwebs of my mind helpful information like “large plastic earrings.”

And finally, Ellie and Jonathan were pleased and approving when I showed up at their school like this, but Maddie and Katie…not so much.  They gave me a very hard time (trying to grab it and ducking to hide when I drove up to their schools); I think a spider on my head looks very becoming and everyone needs to accept it.

So, well, Happy Halloween!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mom said,

    When were the enormous shoulder pads in style? Was it the ’80s? I only just got rid of some of those things — they had been in storage for a long time.

    P.S. Love the spider-on-the-head look. It’s so very yesterday!

  2. 2

    Shawni said,

    Hey Shelley, I just found you again. I lost this blog for a while and couldn’t figure out the address again. I’m savign it on my blog link for next time I get lost. SO great to catch up. II love your new house, especially your retro oven. We miss you guys! Let’s meet up in between AZ nad CA some time!

  3. 3

    Heather K said,

    Loved your frankness on this one Shelley.

  4. 4

    Mandy said,

    Oh Shelley, you are so hilarious. I sure do miss you. It looks like you guys are having so much fun in CA. The costumes are adorable, the house is so perfect (LOVE the oven) and you are in CA! Seriously, it doesn’t get better then that. Especially when you consider the fact that it is getting colder and colder here in VA….

  5. 5

    AdreAnn said,

    My girl was a 80’s chick too.
    hee hee


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

