Painting with Children

Here are the pictures of the finished living room.  The final color choice was Sherwin Williams “sea salt,” on the walls, and “comfort grey,” on the fire place.  I am pretty pleased with the way it came out, kind of a very light grey/blue.  dsc00538

dsc00539

Maddie and Katie even helped with painting this time.  They always ask to help, but this time, when they are really old enough to actually be a help, they didn’t want to.  Whatever.  I made them do it anyways, and they were good sports about it.

dsc00535dsc00531

Ellie, on the other hand, was not helpful in the least little tiny bit.  All we wanted her to do was stay out of the way.  Is that so much to ask?  I know.  I know exactly what you are thinking. 

And you are right.  I should be a firmer parent.  I need to get control of that child.  On Saturday she had to take three baths.  Two of them weren’t even paint related…they had to do with gum.  But for her third and final act she climbed barefoot onto the newly painted fireplace hearth and slipped flat with a mighty splat ruining the hearth and her clothes.  And spilling her glass of milk all over too.  It’s frustrating is what it is.

But at least she’s cute.

dsc00366

To me anyway.  Maybe she’s just cute to me.  Last night the police showed up because she called 911 when she couldn’t find me.  I was in the laundry room.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Barnacle Butt placed an interesting blog post on Painting with ChildrenHere’s a brief overview I made them do it anyways, and they were good sports about it…. […]

  2. 2

    heytar said,

    Loved the 9-1-1 call…that girl rocks. Book just about her?! Maybe. Love the color choice. So calming…beautiful. Miss you.

  3. 3

    Aunt Colleen said,

    My what a busy day your little Ellie had 😉

  4. 4

    Nick said,

    WOW!! I’ll have to be sure and take the phone with me when I do laundry. Your life is certainly never boring… and the room looks fabulous!

  5. 5

    The house looks so nice! We can’t wait to visit 🙂 BTW, how did you
    lure the kids into painting? I’ve never been able to get Taylor
    to lift a brush without him being so irritated that he just slops whatever
    it is I’ve asked him to do…you should see the weird, circular way he
    mows the lawn. Me, and my anal ways, necessitate clean, parallel lines
    when mowing (honestly, I believe our HOA requires it), and Taylor’s
    mowing lines look like an abstract painting.

  6. 6

    Paige said,

    Okay, you have lived in this house for less than 6 months after moving across country,
    gotten everyone in a new school, took care of all the new state stuff (DMV and stuff) Marc adjusting to the new job and your house looks 100x better than mine. What is up with that????
    Sincerely,
    “Green With Jealous Rage” In Virginia
    (quote from Hot Rod, I am not really “rage” filled, actually full of love, esp. when I sit in my living room)

  7. 7

    Aunt Tonya said,

    I was waiting for you to get settled to start reading your blog again but I sure wish I hadn’t. Sorry but I had to laugh at this one. I’m sure you are now also. Love you guys!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

