Christmas is kicking my barnaclebutt

So I hate to admit it, but I am feeling just a teensy bit overwhelmed. 

Last night I did the insomnia thing so that I could lay on the couch and stew about everything I need to do and then I thought, “really?’  As in, “this last year I have made it through closing Marc’s business, having no income for several months, and moving my family across the country in a mere two weeks and I am going to lay here unable to sleep because I am worried about making cookies and planning a party?”

One might think I am freaking crazy.  Because guess what?  I can handle ANYTHING.  I believe you can too, so if you are doing the worry thing let. it. go.

And on that note, here is a brief look at the things I’ve been meaning to post about but haven’t had time.

  • I’m reading Gilead, and I recommend it lovingly to you.  It is beautiful and soothing.
  • At Whole Food milk costs $6.  Gas costs $2.64.  Discuss.
  • I had a new friend over for dinner last week.  She and her family are from Korea and are living here for one year.  Sujin hadn’t been to dinner in an American home and so I was like, a dinner ambassador.  I made flank steak and roast potatoes.  What would you have made?
  • I love Smith and Hawken.  The Christmas things are so shiny.  I say this so that if my significant other is searching for clues as to what I might want for Christmas…ornaments

That’s all.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sara said,

    What does not kill us will make us stronger…..you are a REALLY strong woman Shelley. I love you!

  2. 2

    Brandy Anderson said,

    what? no christmas craft this year? if you were going to stay awake all night you could have at least been brainstorming…for me! I still love my duponi silk trees.

  3. 3

    Dayna said,

    I am glad you came and I loved your cookies and I am sorry I had to miss your party and I hope you had fun! Let’s get together soon. I am sure I’lll see you at the play, too.

  4. 4

    Marc said,

    I love my worrying wife.

    1. I am glad you like Gilead. It is written beautifully, but it is just too slow for me. So I left it in the bathroom, where I knew you would find it. I need a new book and would really appreciate if you could leave something the the bathroom for me. I didn’t think I would like Comfort Me with Apples, but it was sooooo good! Thanks.
    2. Gas is now down to $1.75 a gallon. I wonder if Milk at Whole Foods has gone up.
    3. You need to post the christmas pics of our house here and not just on facebook. Your readers don’t have time for things like flipping between websites and other stuffs . . .
    4. Thanks for the gift tips. Though that store always sounds like a gun shop to me.
    5. Obviously I am working too much when I write all this on your blog. I can’t wait for Christmas break.

    Back to work.

    Love,

    Me


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

