My Little Secret

I have a secret.  Sometimes, when you are a grown man you wear stretchy pants alone in your room.  Just for fun.

No, I just wanted to say that.  My real secret is that sometimes I take myself and my book out to lunch.  I know stay at home moms are supposed to protect the secret that our job is the best gig in the world, but really, I love my dates with my bad self.  Usually about twice a month I will find myself fed up to there with cooking, laundry, the dirty entry way, chip bags under the coffee table, planning dinners, arguing about who is going to practices, wiping the dog’s muddy feet, and whatever else sends me over the edge that day.

A moment of quiet reflection will ensue.  I will ponder, “how can I get my good attitude back and even appreciate the blessing I have in being a stay at home mom?” 

And the answer is like a sweet and light hand on my shoulder saying, “go to lunch.” 

For me, eating out and a good book are some of the best therapy there is.  So yesterday, I went to this awsome burger joint down the street called The Counter.  And I self medicated with the best sweet potato fries evah.  I am reading The Dive From Clauson’s Pier.fries1

And then I emerged refreshed, and today I am ready to face whatever comes my way.  I can say that because my mom and I are planning to go shopping and get pedicures.  You should go.  Maybe the same thing will happen to you.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Marc said,

    But I don’t want to get a pedicure. If I go out to lunch today and read my book, do you think your dad will ask me to go shopping and a round of golf? That sounds like a good gig! Oh! You mean I’ll be refreshed. Got it.

  2. 2

    I am SO coveting your access to such amazing fries. For reals. And get me some SWEAAAATS, Chancho.

  3. 3

    Mom said,

    Meesh — Next time you and your book sneak out for a bite to eat, make the book be A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian by Marina Lewycka. You will love, love, love it. Just like I love, love, love you.

  4. 4

    heytar said,

    Love lunchin’ too. Miss you my friend.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

