A Love Letter for Maddie and Katie

heart1

I’ve noticed that not many of the”mommy blogs” talk about teenagers and I think I know the reason.  It is because they (teenagers) are difficult.  They are rarely cute.  And not even all that funny.

They roll their eyes and sigh.  They say “fine,” and “I said fine.”  They refuse to wear the clothes that you know would look perfect on them.  They hide food in their rooms until you are forced to do your freaked out because of a mouse mommy act.

They sit on the couch while you do the dishes.  They watch “The Secret Life of the American Teenager” even though you tell them not to.  They expect you to drive them places all the time.  And buy all their friends birthday presents.  And let them wear your favorite shoes.  They expect you to be quiet when their friends are over and tell you to “stop doing that,” even when you aren’t doing anything.

Teenagers are painful.  Their shortcomings and weaknesses are excruciatingly familiar.  Perhaps it’s just me?

And yet…

Oh my.  They are so beautiful sometimes it hurts to look at them.  The time you have left together seems to flash  forward like a dream.  They look like your beloved but they insist on being themselves.  They still smell like your babies and some days your arms ache to hold them.  Other days you can barely stand to be with them.

Your hopes for them, your dreams and expectations could fill the oceans and overflow.  It certainly isn’t fair…to either of you.

Have I said too much?  My teenagers, my darling girls, my daughters, my sisters, my best friends, I love you so.  Sometimes, you are so perfect it hurts.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sara Slatter said,

    Beautiful Shelley! Well said. Just wait until you get that little boy in his teens. It isn’t so bad. Camilla is inching up to her teens….not looking forward to it 🙂

  2. 2

    heytar said,

    Loved this post. Spot on.

  3. 3

    dayna said,

    I can nearly ditto this post. I love it. A day doesn’t go by without a certain older daughter of mine saying “stop doing that” when I truly am doing nothing…or am I?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment